

DE BEQUE FIRE STATION MAY 22, 2024

MINUTES

DE BEQUE FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT

CALL TO ORDER:

Pursuant to notice, the regular board meeting of the De Beque Fire Protection District was called to order by President Tanner at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 22, 2024.

OPEN WITH PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO FLAG:

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

ROLL CALL/ESTABLISH QUORUM:

Cynthia Farris, Present
Melanie Hansen, Absent
Dustin Koehler, Absent
Maria Ramthun, Present
Annette Tanner, Present

A quorum was present and the meeting, having been duly convened, was ready to proceed.

OTHERS PRESENT:

Forest Matis, De Beque District Fire Chief Lieutenant Nate Voorhees District Secretary Kim Latham

ADDITIONS OR DELETIONS TO AND APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

None

Motion was made and seconded to approve the agenda as presented.

Motion by: Board President Tanner

Seconded by: Board Vice President Ramthun Vote: Cynthia Farris Aye

Melanie Hansen
Dustin Koehler
Maria Ramthun
Annette Tanner
Absent
Aye
Annette Tanner

Motion Passed.



SQUAD PURCHASE:

\$75,000 was included in the 2024 budget for the purchase of a new squad vehicle for Chief Matis; Chief Matis presented details to the BOD for the possible vehicle purchase. Lieutenant Voorhees found a Ford F150 that has recently been delivered to the Glenwood Springs Ford dealership that is in alignment with the new color scheme of the ambulance build that is scheduled for June delivery. The \$75,000 includes costs to stripe and letter the vehicle, add lights, radios, and other needed equipment. Any equipment on the current Chief Squad unit will be stripped out and used if it is in good shape and usable. Discussion ensued. It was noted by Chief Matis that the remaining Squad 81 utility vehicle will be the next vehicle to need replacement. Board President Tanner expressed that she would like to hold that purchase until 2025.

Motion was made and seconded to approve \$75,000 for the purchase and equipment of the new squad pickup for Chief Matis.

Motion by: Board Vice President Ramthun

Seconded by: Board Member Farris

Vote: Cynthia Farris Aye

Melanie Hansen
Dustin Koehler
Maria Ramthun
Aye
Annette Tanner
Aye

Motion Passed.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING TIME CHANGE FOR JUNE 10, 2024:

Fire Chief Matis requested our attorneys attend the next regular board meeting scheduled for June 10, 2024 to discuss the Trane AC/Heater issue. The attorneys have a meeting scheduled for 7:00 p.m. on that date, but could attend via Zoom if the meeting could be scheduled for an earlier time, such as 5:00 p.m. Discussion ensued.

Motion was made and seconded to move the June 10, 2024 regular meeting to 5:00 p.m.

Motion by: Board Vice President Ramthun

Seconded by: Board Member Farris

Vote: Cynthia Farris Aye

Melanie Hansen Absent
Dustin Koehler Absent
Maria Ramthun Aye
Annette Tanner Aye

Motion Passed.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: None



ADJOURNMENT:

Motion was made and seconded to adjourn the meeting.

Motion by:
Seconded by:
Board Member Faris
Board President Tanner
Vote:
Cynthia Farris
A

Cynthia Farris Aye
Melanie Hansen Absent
Dustin Koehler Absent
Maria Ramthun Aye
Annette Tanner Aye

Motion Passed. Meeting adjourned at: 6:11 p.m.

Next regular meeting: Monday, June 10, 2024

Approved by the De Beque Fire Protection Board of Directors on June 10, 2024



Annette Tanner, President

Melanie Hansen, Secretary

Board of Directors:

Board President Annette Tanner Board Vice President Maria Ramthun Board Secretary Melanie Hansen Board Member Cynthia Farris Board Member Dustin Koehler